I Stand With Israel


Preface:  I am using Wikipedia links in my posts when they are relevant.  By no means should you stop at Wikipedia as the defacto source for information.  The links in this post should give you a great starting point for you to find the facts for yourself.  Use a variety of sources and do your homework, dammit.  I am betting that you are smart enough to use your brain to think things through.  Am I asking too much of you?

I STAND WITH ISRAEL

I’m not a Jew.  I’m not a Christian.  I don’t have a religion (Thank God <grin>).  The Libertarian in me tells me that my relationship with God is my own (Vociferous Libertarians would end that sentence with, “Now fuck off and leave me alone“).  So…I’m just me, wandering on Earth for awhile and making observations.

For me, it was a combination of the murder of Israeli Olympic athletes by Yasir Arafat’s Fatah organization in 1972 and the Passover Massacre in 2002 (Hamas claiming responsibility) that put me on Israel’s side once and for all.

Both sides have plenty for which to be ashamed.  However, in my readings of the historical events, the Israelis have perpetrated less crime against civilians and appear to attack in response to attacks perpetrated on their civilians.  This has not been the case 100% of the time.  Let us throw the first stone if we have never strayed from our values or had one of our own do horrendous things in our name.  This post would scroll off the screen if I listed just a few of those occasions.

The argument has been made by one of my pro-Palestinian friends that given the same set of circumstances, I would do anything to gain control of my homeland if it was taken away from me.  I counter with the fact that I would fight for my homeland, of course.  But, I would never intentionally harm non-combatants.  The truth is that both sides of this conflict harm non-combatants.  However contrast those who do it as a matter of policy vs. those who avoid it when possible, abhor it and are ashamed of themselves for it.  This is where I draw the line.  This is why I stand with Israel.

A Timeline of the Israeli/Palestinian Conflict

Violence in the Israeli/Palestinian Conflict

If you’ve ever been in the Middle East, then you KNOW Glenn is speaking the truth when he contrasts Israel with it’s neighbors.  Even if you don’t stand with Israel, I beg you to read all you can and educate yourself about the conflict.  Start by listening to these words:

[kyte.tv appKey=MarbachViewerEmbedded&uri=channels/379982/1244372&tbid=4532&p=1011&height=384&width=320]

Leave a Reply If You Dare!

