The Right To Fail


“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

The right to my life and liberty are in agreement with natural law.  But the pursuit of happiness is also a right to succeed or fail by my own hand.  In the real world (the one outside of the minds of progressives) there are equal opportunities, but not equal outcomes.

I have failed many times in my life.  And, like a wobbly wind-up toy, my friends and family have, throughout my life, picked me up, dusted me off, wound me back up, pointed me in the right direction and then set me off again.  It is by their love that they wince and stand-by while I fall again and again.  As time has passed, I have tended to fall-down with less frequency…made possible by my public and private failures.  Failure provided me with the opportunity to find out what works and what doesn’t work.  And unless you are insane, you will eventually stop doing what has been shown to result in failure by trial and error.

It is because we as humans are allowed to fail that we succeed overall.  Very few of us human beings have natural success at anything worth doing.  It requires hard work, discipline and failure to succeed.

The current batch of Marxists in the government, news and entertainment media would have you believe that you have a right to health care, a right to a good wage, a right to a roof over your head and a right to someone else’s earnings if you can’t manage to work for yourself.  Those are not rights, they are commodities.  A commodity is something that requires work or money to obtain.  When one is given these things as “rights”, then someone else is working or providing money for that right.

In my life, I’ve been helped by my friends and family when I failed.  They did this out of love; no one held a gun to their head and told them to do this.  I have done the same for others in my family and circle of friends…all out of love and a sense of duty.  Not because the government told me I had to.

I have no right to anything that I’m not willing to work or pay for and no one is obligated to give me anything unless it is out of the goodness of their hearts.  This includes:

  • Healthcare
    • Provided to me as part of a benefits package for the hard work I put in at my job.
  • A Good Wage
    • Also provided in exchange for my labor.
  • A Roof Over My Head
    • Bequeathed to me by my dear mother and by my continuous pouring of my own funds into it’s upkeep and improvement.
  • Happiness
    • Which I have not always had but now do because of  hard work & self-discipline (which has never come natural to me) and by the direction of my wife who is stronger, smarter and prettier than I have or ever will be.

Progressive thought and natural law are polar opposites.  A progressive sees failure as something that must be avoided at all cost.  I see failure as something necessary to the growth of the human mind and soul.

…brian

Leave a Reply If You Dare!

